Looks like Google is getting into the home security game

I am a huge fan of Google.  I am a fan boy for Google like hipsters are for apple.  My phone is android, my browser is chrome, my primary email is Gmail so Google pretty much knows everything about me and I have come to accept that.  I don’t inherently like that all my personal information is possessed by companies like Google and government bodies like the NSA but it seems like that is the direction the world is moving in.  That being said I don’t know how I would feel about using Google home security.  Letting one company have so much knowledge about my life seems a bit scary.  I feel like I wouldn’t want one company to have all my information and have the ability to see my home surveillance footage.  What if something like a security breach in the company happens, if the company that had that breach had all of my info it is all gone.  If I have a company that does my home surveillance and another for my internet use and another for other aspects of my life maybe the odds of  a breach go up but at least they wouldn’t have everything all at once.  Maybe I am just being paranoid but I think I will keep my home security and my shopping habits in the hands of different companies.  The move to buy Dropcam does seem like a good business move though and makes sense to compete with Apple but I really don’t think I would want either company having access to my security.

 

NBC LosAngeles Article 

Leave a Reply

